Market Rasen Golf: Gregory ends season on high note

First for sports news
First for sports news

David Gregory took the final prize of the season at Market Rasen Golf Club when he won the last of three October stablefords.

He took top spot with 39 points on countback from Simon Desay.

Countback was also needed to separate the rest of the top five with Charlie Hinchcliffe (third), Rick Sandham (fourth) and Ben Hinchcliffe (fifth) all scoring 38 points. The junior professional prize went to Luke Parkinson.

The first October stableford was won by Vic Blanchard with 41 points, two clear of runner-up Harry Lee, with Hatril Dhindsa in third with 38 points on countback from fourth-placed Ryan Bond and Ian Penniston.

The month’s final stableford winner was Mark Briggs on countback from Neil Carmichael after both scored 40 points.

Grant Hinchcliffe was third, two points back, and John Doughty claimed fourth place with 37 points, again on countback, from Steve Forbes.

* Richard Everett was the clear winner of the Porter Pot 18-hole medal competition.

The 12-handicapper finished four shots clear of the rest of the field after a nett round of 64.

Charlie Hinchcliffe claimed second spot with 68 on countback from third-placed D. Bunting and Dave Ashworth in fourth. The gross prize went to Les Brumpton for his round of 76.

* Ryan Bond took the Junior Imprint Trophy from runner-up Luke Parkinson and third-placed Mark Bedford.

* Teams of four battled it out for the Presentation Day Texas Scramble.

Jacob Morley, Dave Robinson, Dave Garland and Richard Albon secured the honours after a closely-fought competition with a fine nett score of 55.9.

Results: 1 Jacob Morley, Dave Robinson, Dave Garland, Richard Albon 55.9, 2 Steve Hewish, Steve Forbes, Laurie Finch, Mark Bedford 56.2, 3 Les Brumpton, John Chapman, Eric Winder, John Lowe 56.3, 4 Gaff Elliott, Rob Hainsworth, Alan Lowe, Tommy Mitchell 56.9