Flurry of competitions to end 2014 at Market Rasen Golf Club

Richard Marshall, winner of the Whisky Stagger at Market Rasen Golf Club EMN-141230-121131001
Richard Marshall, winner of the Whisky Stagger at Market Rasen Golf Club EMN-141230-121131001

Market Rasen Golf Club wrapped up 2014 with a flurry of competitions.

After the Presentation Day, Luke Parkinson added to his numerous achievements by winning the Thomas Shield (Junior Championship) and Club Champion Tom Bean completed ‘the double’ by winning the Birkett (Knock-out) Trophy.

Three seasonal competitions took place recently. The Whisky Stagger, a qualifying Stableford competition played in three handicap divisions, was won by the Club’s Finance Director Richard Marshall (pictured) with 39 points. The three divisions were all won by players on 37 points:- Tim Brumpton (Division 1), Steve Unwin (Division 2) and John Vernam (Division 3). This Competition witnessed the Drive-In of the new Men’s Captain, Guy Hardcastle, who presented his prize to Hatrel Dhindsa for being nearest his drive off the first tee.

The Turkey Trot is a non-qualifying medal competition for meat vouchers. John Priestly was the outright winner with a magnificent nett 64, three shots ahead of immediate past Captain Graham Dolan and Steve Stead. Men’s Vice-Captain Les Brumpton and Eric Winder were 4th and 5th on nett 68 and Merv Price 6th with nett 69. Andy Osbourne, Steve Unwin and Mick Duke all shot nett 70 and Pete Sellars took the last prize with nett 71. Senior Champion Gaff Elliott won the Best Gross Voucher after a back 3 countback from Steve Hewish on gross 78.

The Christmas Social Texas Scramble saw 84 players take to the course for a shotgun start on a cold but bright Sunday morning.

Winners with nett 56.1 were Mixed Team Steve Hewish, the Club’s Off-Course Director Pete Bray, retiring Social Secretary and Past Men’s Captain Richard Holmes and Past Ladies’ Captain Bridget Holmes. Second with nett 57.4 were Andy Platt, Gary Lancaster-Crane, Phil Clifford and Neil Vickers. Taking third place with nett 58.0 were Past Men’s Captains Benny Hinchliffe and Ronnie Ryan with new Junior Captain Charlie Hinchliffe and his compatriot Jacob Morley.