Market Rasen Golf: Codd lands the big Captain’s Day prize

editorial image

On an unseasonably chilly, but dry day, Les Brumpton, successfully hosted his Captain’s Day competitions at Market Rasen Golf Club.

A total of 101 men and 19 ladies played for a plethora of prizes and were treated to refreshments on the completion of their rounds.

In the men’s qualifying medal, Matt Codd took the trophy with an outstanding nett 67, two full shots ahead of second and third-placed Pete Langford and Brian Inman. Fourth- placed Dave Ashworth was a further shot adrift.

Chris Osbourne won the best gross round prize with a superb three-over-par 74.

Past captain Margaret Rylatt had a welcome return to form to win the ladies’ nine-hole stableford competition with 18 points, two shots ahead of the next four golfers.

After a countback, Helen Wilson was declared runner-up with another former captain Ann Todd in third.

Nearest the Barrel prizes on the third, 10th and 17th holes attracted prizes of a gallon of ale and went to Grant Hinchliffe, Suresh Pillai and Rob Davison.

Ian Penniston had a direct hit on the third, but the deflection sent his ball out of bounds.

Many thanks were expressed to Les and other members of staff who made the day so successful.

Other prizewinners – Best Junior: Charlie Elliott. Best aged 65+: John Boulton. Best in handicap categories 1-4: Mike Perry, John Chapman and Alan Mitchell. Nearest the pin (ladies): Sylvia Mowbray; (men): Dave Ashworth (5th and 18th holes).

Longest Drive (13th hole): Matt Codd. Straightest Drive (6th hole): Fran Pullen.

* The John Hornsey Trophy (Winter League) reached its conclusion when Tim Brumpton and Rick Wheeler beat Dave King and Gary Smith in the final match.

In the Utley Trophy, Dave Robinson and Steve Maplethorpe are set to face Craig Smith and Gary Lancaster-Crane in their final.

After the Ellmore Cup preliminary medal round, the top eight went into the matchplay knockout phase. They are Matt Codd, Adie Sawyer, Ian Mawer, Pete Bray, Steve Brown, Andy Osbourne, Tim Brumpton and Graham Reeve.

Paul Moore hit a purple patch by winning both the Jones and Timms Cups after shooting a nett 67 in the Jones medal and a score of +6 in the Timms Par/Bogey which earned him a well-deserved two-shot handicap reduction.

Shooting nett rounds of 67 and 68 respectively, Neil Carmichael won the EGU Gold Medal and Steve Unwin the Topliss Trophy.

* Club stalwart Frank Waterman’s recent success in the Young Cup was an example of dedicated practice and hard work.

Having never won a trophy before and playing off a handicap of 28, Frank shot a gross 98 which converted to nett 70.

After a countback he beat Alan Lowe (19 handicap) on the back nine to win the competition for handicappers 19–28.