GOLF: Market Rasen members revel in the heat of summer competition

Captain Roy Knowles presenting the Harmsworth Trophy to new Club Champion Tom Bean
Captain Roy Knowles presenting the Harmsworth Trophy to new Club Champion Tom Bean

The members at Market Rasen and District Golf Club have played in several competitions leading up to the Club Championship, which took place on the hottest day of the year so far.

The Juniors competed for the Burley-Boulton Trophy where Jacob Morley prevailed with a splendid 40 points off 8 handicap just one point ahead of new young member Lennon Stead.

Following the Captain’s Ball, 28 teams of 4 played a social Texas Scramble. With nett 55.7 Guy Hardcastle, Daryl Parkinson and father and son Paul and Keiron Baker were the outright winners. Steve Ayres, Dave King, Margaret Dixon and Jenny Brundle won the Best Mixed prize with nett 59.2.

Only those with handicaps of 19 or above were eligible to compete for the Young Cup. 7 players shot scores below the standard scratch and cut their handicaps. Keith Whitelam was the winner with nett 59, shaving 5 shots off his handicap. S Davies was 2nd with nett 61 and Suresh Pillai 3rd with nett 64.

On the longest day of the year, starting at 4am, Men’s Captain Roy Knowles, lowest handicapper Tom Bean and Junior Captain Jamie Codd played a sponsored 100 holes to raise more than £1,200 for Help 4 Heroes. They were supported throughout the day by family and friends, and fed and watered by Stewards Pete and Janet Parkinson.

At 8.30pm, as they examined the day’s scorecards, their weariness was dissipated by the realisation that their golf had remained at a consistently high standard with all rounds being completed in under gross 80.

The following day Roy Knowles hosted his annual Captain’s Day competition and at the end of the day awarded prizes as follows: Best Nett – Scott Lowman (n65); Best Gross – Steve Hewish (g 73); Best Senior – Peter Belk (n70); Best Junior – Luke Parkinson (n73) and Best Guest – Clive Skinns (Woodhall Spa GC n 69). Jenny Brundle won the Ladies’ 9 hole competition with 18 points.

Fellow 100 holer Jamie Codd won the Longest Drive and Nearest the Pin prizes went to Linda Reeve, Matt Cooksey, Guest Jason Parker and Steve Forbes, who delighted everyone with a Hole-In-One on the par 3.

66 gentlemen members brought guests to the first Invitation Day to play a Betterball Stableford competition. Scott Fletcher playing with his Grandad D Tongue brought in a late in the day score of 45 points to push Richard and S. Marshall into second place.

All on 40 points, Simon Desay and D Bellamy, Pete Wride and N Hunton and Grant Hinchliffe and S Shucksmith had be separated into third, fourth and fifth places by countback.

Competitors for the Audi Trophy found the course conditions, especially the rough, hard going and this produced a close finish. Steve Ayres won on countback from Robert Lancaster (both n69) one better than Vic Blanchard in third and two better than junior Freddie Allen in fourth. Six handicapper Alan Wormall shot the best gross of 77.

At 7.30am on the 07/07/13 John Pickering and Frank Waterman were the first of 53 members to tee off for the Harmsworth Trophy – a 36 hole scratch competition for the Club Championship.

As temperatures soared into the 30s and the first round came to close Tom Bean was eight shots in the lead, having carded a course record gross 67, from Roy Knowles, Roger Codd and Jack Robinson on 75, Scott Fletcher and current champion Ben Williamson on 76, and Paul Baker and Neil Carmichael on 78. Tom Bean (n65) and Roger Codd (n67) also led the Nett Competition from Pete Conway (n67) and Gary Lancaster-Crane (n68).

The second round was played in the full blast of the afternoon sun and it became a question of who could best adapt to the circumstances. Scott Fletcher, Gaff Elliott and Steve Hewish all improved on their first round scores to bring them into contention, and the growing number of spectators had to wait for the very last group to come in to establish the result.

The top eight players will compete for the Birkett Trophy in match play knock-outs and Leif Monument, Roy Knowles, Steve Hewish, Ben Williamson and Gaff Elliott qualified alongside third placed Jack Robinson (75+77=152), second placed Scott Fletcher (76+73=149) and Market Rasen’s 2013 Club Champion Tom Bean, whose afternoon round of 79 left him 3 shots clear on 146.

The winner of the Nett Prize was Pete Conway with nett 140.