Golf: Market Rasen Club round-up

Open Competition winner Grant Hinchliffe receiving the trophy from the Men's Captain Roy Knowles.
Open Competition winner Grant Hinchliffe receiving the trophy from the Men's Captain Roy Knowles.

At the beginning of August, Market Rasen and District Golf juniors played for the Parkinson Trophy.

Charlie Elliot won with a score of 40 points, followed by Tom Schmitt with 38 points and Lennon Stead with 37 points.

A day later, the President’s Putter was played for, with Bob Pickering winning with a very good score of 45.

Dave Allenson came second on 41 points and Luke Parkinson third on 40 points, from Ian Mawer with 40 points and Alan Lowe also with 40 Points.

On the August 8, the Am Am team event was won, with 88 points, by Dave King, M Holland, J Archibald and D Doyle from Market Rasen, Carholme, Gainsborough and Retford respectively.

In second place were Simon Davies, Dave Burley, Grant Hinchliffe and Robert Lancaster all from Market Rasen, with 87 points, and in third were Roy Knowles, J Woodcock, Ray Pearson and G Woodcock from Market Rasen, Woodhall Spa and Temple Newsom, with 86 points on the count back.

The Bawtry team of D Rothwell, T Rothwell, A Vaux and R Kerr, with 86 points on the count back, and in fifth position were C Whitmore, I Andrews, L Evans and P Shackleton from Maxstoke, Willersley and Athersone with 86 points on the count back.

Nearest the Pin winners were gentlemen’s prize C Davidson, from Hull Golf Club, and Ladies prize J Leather.

The Professional’s Prize on the August 10 was won by Tim Brumpton with 39 points, with Rick Sandham second on 38 points and Dave King third, also on 38 points.

The Men’s Open was won by Grant Hinchliffe of Market Rasen, in very windy difficult conditions, with a net score of 142 over 36 holes.

Scott Pridgeon was second with 143 and Jack Robinson third with 144.

Gross prizes were won by B Spoor from Woodhall Spa with 152 on count back, E Wainwright from Headingley with 152 and A Scott from Elton Furze with 154.

Finally, the Rover Cup was played for on August 24 and was won by Simon Desay with a nett 64.

In second was Scott Pridgeon, with a nett 69, and in third Men’s Captain Roy Knowles, also with a nett 69.