GOLF: Competition season at Market Rasen swings into action

Past Men's Captain Graham Dolan, winner of the Spring Medal EMN-150426-201551001
Past Men's Captain Graham Dolan, winner of the Spring Medal EMN-150426-201551001

Market Rasen Golf Club’s competition season has swung into action with two junior competitions, a foursomes trophy and two medals.

Junior Captain Charlie Hinchliffe and stalwart Luke Parkinson have won the Parkinson Plate and the Vernam Trophy with 36 and 37 stableford points respectively. Charlie Elliott earned second place in both competitions with 33 and 34 points.

The Famous Grouse Shotgun Foursomes saw 21 teams on the tees at 8.30 am on a Sunday morning and 3½ hours later John Boulton and Malcolm Newcombe had emerged winners with nett 72. Just half a shot behind Mervyn Price and Tommy Mitchell and Steve White and John Doughty shot the Best Gross of 86.

The Spring Medal saw 80 members tee off in a mixed draw in the first strokeplay competition of the year. Men’s Captain Guy Hardcastle (8) shot the Best Gross 80, just one stroke better than Chris Osbourne (8), Men’s Vice Captain Les Brumpton (7) and Junior Captain Charlie Hinchliffe (7).

Second, third and fourth placed Mark Codd, Adie Bothamley and Andy Ward could only be separated by a back 9 countback off nett 70.

The Immediate Past Men’s Captain Graham Dolan carded an excellent nett 68 to win outright and reduce his handicap by 2 shots (14 – 12) in the process.

Sixty-four members competed for the Ford Cup in glorious conditions where the previous night’s rain had made the fairways true and the greens fast but receptive.

This was reflected in the scores with seven players carding better than the competition standard scratch (70) and a further four equalling or better than the course par (71).

The Best Gross was shot by Luke Parkinson (g75) narrowly beating Neil Carmichael with a one-shot-better back 9. The four placed men all reduced their handicaps, with Dave King and Matt Codd in third and fourth places respectively on nett 68 and second placed John Boulton on nett 66. With just one shot better, Gary Smith was the outright winner with a superb nett 65 which included a birdie 2 at the par 3 14th.

The first rounds of the Sanders Trophy, 51 Club and Junior Cup knock-out competitions have all been completed; Adie Bothamley and Pete Conway are waiting to see if they meet Roy Knowles and Ray Pearson or Guy Hardcastle and Steve Brown in the final of the Utley Trophy: Jeff Portlock and Dave Gregory will meet Steve Forbes and Andy Ward in the final of the John Hornsey Trophy (Winter League) – a competition which began last October.