County’s Premier Division champions crowned

Share this article

Several issues were resolved on the final full day of the Lincolnshire Cricket League’s 2011 programme, though there are still several issues outstanding and some games still to be played this weekend.

Caistor decided the outcome of the Premier Division title, losing to Barton Town at Brigg Road, but depriving the visitors of the maximum points they needed to stop Haxey becoming champions.

Caistor finish a creditable mid-table sixth having won half their games, which represents a decent recovery after a poor start. Main run scorers for Caistor were Peter Briggs with 24, Gareth Johnson 31, and Sahan Wijerathne with 36.

Tom Boryszczuk took three wickets and Wijerathne four in what could possibly be his last game for the club, depending on whether he returns for a fourth year in 2012. Either way it has been another fine season for the Sri Lankan all rounder.

South Kelsey had an excellent win away to Messingham 2nds by an impressive 6 wickets, but will remain in Division 1 for the 2012 season. Marcus Meadows took 5 for 28 with his seamers for Kelsey with David Everatt, 31, and Chandi Wathukarage, 48, in good form with the bat.

Caistor 2nds lost to Nettleham in Division 2 and will not go up.

Keelby stay second, having finished their games the previous week, but may well be overtaken by Cleethorpes 3rds, who have matches in hand.

Owmby are now safe from relegation, Dan Hill taking five wickets as they beat Hartsholme 2nds.

South Kelsey 2nds lost their final game at home to Washingborough, who therefore secured the championship. Kelsey finish third from bottom, but safe from a return to the basement section.

In Division 4, Keelby 2nds beat Morton and won’t have to seek for re-election.

There was a heavy defeat for Caistor 3rds, the wooden spoonists, who will be hoping the autumn league meeting backs their application for re-election.