Who will you be voting for on May 2?

Share this article

Nominations for next month’s Lincolnshire County Council are in and at least four candidates will contest each seat in the Market Rasen area.

And for the first time ever the UK Independence Party has a candidate standing in every electoral ward in the county.

The election will take place across the county on Thursday May 2, and as usual the polls will be open from 7am to 10pm.

But in Market Rasen two elections will be contested. As well as the county council election, there will be an election to fill the one vacant seat on Market Rasen Town Council.

Carol Skye, of Naylors Drive, Middle Rasen, is standing again having been a town councillor a decade ago. UKIP candidate James Griggs of Lammas Leas Road, Market Rasen, will stand against her.

In the county council election, residents in the Market Rasen Wolds ward will have the choice of voting for sitting Conservative Councillor Burt Keimach, of Gordon Field, Market Rasen, Liberal Democrat Guy Grainger, of King Street, Market Rasen, UKIP candidate Michael Ranby from Osgodby, Independent Geoff Wiseman of Sunningdale Way, Gainsborough and Labour’s Lynne Goodall of High Street Scotter.

In the North Wolds division, which encompasses the Caistor area, sitting Conservative Tony Turner, from Swallow, will be competing for votes alongside Liberal Democrat Robert Heathorn, from Snitterby, UKIPs Jane Ranby from Osgodby and Labour party candidate Janet Tierney from Bigby.

Current Conservative councillor Lewis Strange, from Grasby, is again standing in the Ancholme Cliff ward, where Liberal Democrat Carol Skye, from Middle Rasen, UKIP candidate Nigel Wright, from Osgodby, and Labour’s Thornton Moore, from Lincoln, will contest the seat.

In the Welton Rural ward Brian Gulliver, from Cherry Willingham will stand for the Labour party against current Conservative councillor Sue Rawlins, from Buslingthorpe, UKIPs Steven Pearson, from Southrey, and independent Diana Rodgers, from Welton.

Residents in Binbrook, which falls in the Louth Wolds ward will have Conservative Hugo Marfleet, from Tetford, Labour’s Michael Preen, from Louth, BNP candidate John Atty, from Goulceby, and Lincolnshire Independent Brian Burnett, from Louth, on their ballot paper.

In Wragby Conservative Denis Hoyes, is standing against Lib Dem Darren Burr, Labour’s Andrew Austin and UKIP candidate Les Pears.