No election for Market Rasen Town Council but Caistor candidates come out in force

Parish council election news.
Parish council election news.

Just eight candidates have put themselves forward for election to Market Rasen Town Council, leaving four vacancies.

This means that among the central and local government elections on May 7, there will not be an election for the town council.

Acting Town Clerk Betty Gash told the Rasen Mail that the council will try and co-opt members after the elections.

Coun Steve Bunney, a former town mayor, said it was a shame that just eight had put themselves forward for the 12 vacancies.

Coun Bunney, who is also a Liberal Democrat candidate for Welton & Dunholme in the district council elections, confirmed vacancies would be filled by co-option.

Market Rasen Town Council faced problems last year filling vacancies by co-option.

But the town council is relieved it does not face the cost of running an election.

Last year, it faced a potential bill for £2,000 to stage a contested election.

But potential candidates pulled out at the last minute to save the cost of a by-election.

However, Coun Bunney believes that with there being district elections and the general election on May 7, the cost of a contested election for town council would have been much lower, in the ‘hundreds,’ he told the Rasen Mail.

He called for people to consider putting themselves forward for co-option.

The response for Market Rasen Town Council contrasts with Caistor Town Council, which will face a contested election on May 7.

It has 21 candidates chasing 14 seats.

In Market Rasen the confirmed candidates Ken Bridger, Stephen Bunney, Martin Harvey, Margaret Lakin-Whitworth, John Matthews, John McNeill, Carol Skye, and Cathy Turner.

As expected, former town councillors John Hadlow and Nigel Cook did not seek re-election. Natasha Travis, who was co-opted last year, also dropped out.

It is understood James Patton may seek co-option again. He has said he did not want to stand for election to avoid imposing the cost an election on the town council.

The candidates for Caistor Town Council are Deborah Barker, Jayne Bowman, Baz Burnett, Alan Caine, Stewart Davey, Michael Galligan, Jacqui Hughes, Mark Hughes, Ronald Lyus, Carol Mackenzie, Steven Millson, Clive Rudd, Howard Scott, Ian Short, Martin Sizer, Alan Thomas Somerscales, Michael Stopper, Shona Wall, Angela Clark, David Wright and Jon Wright.