20 hopefuls chase 19 seats

TWENTY candidates had been declared for Brigg Town Council when nominations closed for the 19 seats available.

This means, for the first time in many years there will be no co-opted councillors when those elected take their seats after the election on May 5.

As previously reported, long-serving councillor and former three-times town mayor Tom Glossop is not seeking re-election. Nor is recently-elected councillor Kathleen Devai.

Those standing for election are: Edward George Rupert Arnott, Jennifer Anne Bell, Sheila Dawn Boughey, Jacqueline Brock, Michael Stuart Campion, Alex William Depledge, Chris Dyson, Ann Eardley, Julian Edmond Gibson Kidd, Jane Kitching, John Kitwood, Andrew Lindsay Markham, Benn Nobbs, Mel Oades, Christopher Arthur Pope, Carl Graham Sherwood, Penny Smith, James Ernest Truepenny, Rob Waltham and Lesley Elaine Whitehand.