Obtuary: Morris Henry Abbott

Morris Henry Abbott
Morris Henry Abbott

The funeral service for Morris Henry Abbott, aged 96 years of Middle Rasen, was held at the Methodist Chapel.

The Rev Anne Coates officiated at the service and arrangements were by J Marshall of Market Rasen.

Morris was born in Osgodby.

He was, at one time, the owner of the village general store, with a travelling shop too serving the rural community.

He then went on to be a driving school owner, retiring at the age of 75.

Morris also served for six years in the armed forces, spending time in both Italy and North Africa.

Closer to home, he was the Chapel caretaker at Tealby and the door steward at Middle Rasen.

He had been chairman of the Lincolnshire Driving School Association and was the founder of the luncheon club as well as chairman of Help the Aged in Middle Rasen.

Family mourners were: Sylvia Marshall (daughter); Pauline and Fritz Allen (daughter and son-in-law); Morris and Mary Abbott (son and daughter-in-law); Paula Marshall (granddaughter); Chris and Jenny Allen, Shawn and Joyce Abbott, Lee and Wendy Marshall, Martin and Andrea Abbott (grandsons and wives); Victoria and Richard Dunning (granddaughter and husband); Sophie Marshall (great-granddaughter).

Friends at the service were: Mr and Mrs Altoft; Mr and Mrs Burrows; Joan Potter; Mrs P Fussey; Mrs A Naylor; Mrs S M Veitch; Mr L Russell; Mr J Hildred; Mr and Mrs Shortland (also rep Mrs J Dixon, Mr M Garner); Mrs L Moffat; Molly Dixon; Mrs A Surfleet (also rep the Surfleet family); Mrs S Adlard; Mr and Mrs J Baxter (also rep Mr R Coulson); Margaret Hughes; Mrs Beltoft; Sandra and Jeff Wood; Miss C Turner; Pete Starling (also rep Artie Hawbrook); Meg Willey (also rep Mrs G Crow); Noreen and Keith Baxter; Mandy Smith (also rep Robin Smith); Muriel Nicholls; Ken Symons; Mr and Mrs P Stanley; Mr F Picksley; Brian and Dorothy Fox; Bill Lockwood; George Stanley; Jane and Derek Cram; Mavis Sutton; Alan and Maureen Cressey; Ann Daff; Mrs I Elliott; Janice Cook (also rep Brian Cook, Helen Sheehan, Martin Cook and also Antony Cook); Mrs A Ward (also rep Alison Martin, Jacqui Ward); G Freeman; Mr and Mrs B Kirkby; Don Owen; John Warwick; Mr and Mrs W Hankins; G Smith; M Walford (also rep C Walford); Dawn Sweetland (also rep Gladys Crow, Joy Lloyd); Mrs M Stamp; Nancy Vernam; Mr and Mrs G Veal; Mr J Lambert (Ex Chairman of LMSA); Rex Parkinson (also rep Audrey Parkinson); Mr and Mrs P Burrows; Bill Smith; Mr A France; Mr J Abbott; Mrs Presswood; Mr and Mrs Stanley; Mrs C Bunch (also rep Middle Rasen Lunch Club); Mr R Lockwood; Mrs J Lloyd; Mrs R Dawson; Mr and Mrs Tripp; Mr G W Stanley; Mr and Mrs J Stanley; Lee and Wendy Marshall; Mrs E Jackson; Mr Frisk; Mary James; Ian Hardcastle (also rep Pat Hardcastle).