Obituary: Horace Charles Marshall

The Rev Horace Marshall EMN-150508-172131001
The Rev Horace Marshall EMN-150508-172131001

The funeral service for retired Methodist minister the Rev Horace Charles Marshall, aged 95 years, was held at Market Rasen Methodist Church.

The Rev Andrew Lomax officiated and arrangements were by J Marshall.

Born in Cleethorpes, Horace was a Methodist minister for more than 60 years.

Although he retired in 1998, he continued to take an active role in the Chapel until last year - playing the organ, preaching occasionally and, until last year, mowing the chapel lawn.

Throughout World War Two, Horace served in the army with BEF and RAOC in France, Ireland and Australia, working on radar - and preaching.

His life was dedicated to his ministry, working in Staffordshire, Derbyshire, Louth, Gainsborough, Liverpool, Berwick on Tweed, Port Talbot and finally back in Market Rasen, where he and Dorothy, who he married in 1947, retired.

Family mourners were: Mr and Mrs Van Brussel (daughter and son-in-law); Mr and Mrs Kitchen (granddaughter and husband) and great-granddaughter Jessica; Eva Lime-Beer (sister); Mr and Mrs R O’Brien (niece and husband) and daughter; Mr and Mrs P Marshall (nephew and wife); John and Angela Vanderrord (nephew and wife); Michael Stores (nephew).

Friends at the service were: David and Pearl Islip; Mr and Mrs B Oxborrow (also rep Mr D Hill; Mr and Mrs R Sawby); Mollie Dixon; Glenda and Geoff Taylor; Miss C Maycock; Jean Woodward; Jo Dunston; Gordon Dixon; Les Russell; Geoff Smith; Mr and Mrs W Hankins (also rep Middle Rasen Women’s Own); Christine Kettleworth; Mr and Mrs Harper; Mr D Evans; Don Owen (also rep the Rev and Mrs B Kirkby; Mrs P Thwaites); John Blackburn; Mr L Tranter; Mrs V Tranter; Mr and Mrs E Margetson (also rep Mr R Hare); Doreen Wallis (also rep The Fellowship at Brookenby Methodist Church); Mr and Mrs B Ward (also rep Sue Ward); Mrs R Tindall (also rep Mr R Tindall , Darren and Richard); Mrs J Bates (also rep Colin Bates); Freda Horton; Margaret Dawson; Mrs J Fletcher (also rep Miss M Mumby); Mrs A Baxter (also rep Mr J Baxter); Derrick and Jose Grayson (also rep Mr and Mrs D Johnson); Mrs B Grayson; Mrs J Holland; Mr and Mrs J Simms; Mr and Mrs P Burrows; Mr B Marshall (also rep J Marshall); Mrs S Sanderson; Ann Lillywhite; Midge Thomas (also rep North Kelsey Chapel); Mary Nicholls (also rep Janet Nicholls); Ken Knapton; John and Maureen Mann; Wiltowski; June Hare ; Dr Liz Smith (also rep Dr Peter Smith); Jill Sellars; Jane Lloyd; Meryl Charman (also rep Richard, Lorna and Graham Charman); Ann Coates; Malcome Coates; Sandra Tindall; Jessie Mawer (also rep Ian Mawer; Eileen Scott); G Freeman; Janice Cook (also rep Brian Cook); Mr N D Corden (also rep the Corden family); Coleta (also rep The Poplars); Molly Sykes; Dennis Cotton; Sharon Hall (also rep Debbie Turner); Ann and Joe Brockman; the Rev David Newlove (also rep Heather Newlove); Mr and Mrs O’Brien; Paul Hiley (also rep Market Rasen New Life Church); Janet and Trevor Faulkner; Mr and Mrs E Burks; Peter Atkinson.