Obituary: Geoffrey Hardwick Harrison

Obituary: Geoffrey Hardwick Harrison EMN-160425-121532001
Obituary: Geoffrey Hardwick Harrison EMN-160425-121532001

The funeral service for Geoffrey Hardwick Harrison, aged 78 years of Market Rasen, was held at St Peter and St Paul Church, Middle Rasen.

The Rev Canon Ian Robinson officiated at the service and arrangements were by J Marshall of Market Rasen.

Geoffrey was born in Beverley, Yorkshire.

In 1959, he started his two years National Service with the RAF, stationed at West Raynham in Norfolk.

He arrived in Market Rasen in 1963 and worked as a surveyor and auctioneer.

He was a partner with George Mawer Co (later becoming Mawer, Mason & Bell) and in 1969 moved to Brigg, after the takeover of Broadgate & Co.

Geoffrey remained in the Brigg area and developed agricultural business over many years.

He retired in 2000, having latterly been with Brown & Co.

Geoffrey was a member of the Rotary Club of Market Rasen and of Probus in Market Rasen.

He had previously been a member of Market Rasen Round Table, serving as their chairman from 1967 to 1968, and later Brigg Round Table.

Geoffrey was a keen sportsman, playing cricket and rugby at school and beyond, later for Boston.

He played cricket for Sleaford and Market Rasen and also golf at Market Rasen and Elsham.

He was captain at Elsham in 1989, spent ten years as vice-president and three years, until 2005, as president.

Family mourners were: Wendy J Harrison (wife); Simon and Jenny Harrison (son and daughter-in-law); Katherine and Ray Carthy (daughter and son-in-law); Hannah, Ellen, Finlay and Madeleine (grandchildren); Mrs V Ogle (mother-in-law); Janet Furnell (sister-in-law); Mr and Mrs A Snookes (sister and brother-in-law); Joseph and Elizabeth Snookes (nephew and niece); Robert and Alison Harrison (nephew); Phillip and June Brown, Michael and Ann Brown (cousins).

Friends at the service were: Archie Kerr; Butch Treadgold; Mrs E Umpleby; Tony Burnett; Sandra and Ron Myland; Keith Patrick (President of Rotary Club, Market Rasen); Harold Bates (also rep Rose Bates); Richard Hansard; Hugh Nott; Peter Marriott; G M Cooper; Alan Robinson; Helen Hansard; Michael Hansard; Margo Green; John Smith (also rep Kathleen Smith); Lewis Strange; Mrs M Skelton (also rep Lincolnshire County Council); Charlie Bryant; Nigel Douglas; Mr and Mrs John Jackson; Betty Dalrymple; Andrew Dalrymple; Christine and Gordon Mapplethorpe; Trevor Lyle; Mr and Mrs P Robinson; John Moore; Trevor Robinson; Sarah Jackson; Ken Rylatt; Michael and Nick Herring; Elizabeth Day; Tilly Lawrence (also rep Ladies’ Section of Golf Club); Bridget Holmes; Richard Holmes; Mrs C Lancaster; Ann Todd; Joan Woodcock; Mr and Mrs J Lamier (also rep the Gladwin family); Mr and Mrs Alan Walker; James Robinson; Rose Davey (also rep Edwin Davey and family); George Gladwin (also rep Phylis Gladwin); Ben Smith (also rep Probus, Market Rasen); A Povey; Bryan Storey; D H Mawer; David and Janice Lyle; Wendy Lyle; Susan Anthony (also rep Gill and Ian Johnson); Gail Kewley (also rep Fiona and Sara); Henry Brown (Sleaford); Joyce Rhodes; Rosemary Walker; David Thorpe; Ken Pritchard; Bill Copestake (also rep Anne Copestake); John G Adams (also rep Alan Robinson); Neville Hansard; Richard Lewis (also rep David Mason and also Stuart and Christine Davis); Bridget Franklin; James Phillips (also rep Judy Phillips); Robert Jackson (also rep Ros Jackson; Mr and Mrs Halmshaw); Mr and Mrs Eric Bell; Roger Warwick; Ann Ward; Mr and Mrs M Perkins (also rep Martin Cox); Jackie Marriott; Judy Strawson; Philip Dunn (also rep Ian Youdan); John Simpson (also rep Betty Jackson); Giles Johnston; the Rev and Mrs John Long; Janet Thorpe (also rep Richard Thorpe); Alan Henderson; Heather Barratt; Mary Barr; Keith Knapton; Doris Woodall; Philip Bletcher (also rep John Bletcher; Peter Ashton); Sue and Alistair Heath; Harry and Margaret Davis; Ian and Barbara Shedden; Nick and Anna Wells; David Herring; Jean Williamson; Tony Dale (DDM Agriculture); Derek and Janet Anderson; Arthur and Margaret Borrill (also rep Robert Borrill); John Epton; John and Rita Kendall (also rep Anne Wilkinson; Geoff Bramhill); Pauline and Martin Harrington; Ian Wilmot; Mr P Carrick-Smith; Gillian Franklin (also rep Charles Franklin); Mrs J Ford; Joan and Colin Mee; Mrs A N Kerr; Clifford Ellis (also rep Paul Bayley); Paul White; Patrick and Ann Glacken; Richard Alderson (Brown and Co); Ted Fowler (also rep Robin and Jan Shannon); Alan Lakeman (Market Rasen Rotary) ; Michael and Molly Greenbeck; Steve Cartwright (also rep Park View); Geoff Wells (also rep G W and T J Wells); Lynne Day; David Williams (also rep Jeremy Hexton); Susan Cox (also rep John Cox); Mary Metheringham; Robert Bell (Horncastle); Martin Thomson (also rep Drury and Wheeldon); Tony Neal; John Smith (also rep Louth Tractors); Dr John and Mrs Harris (also rep Elaine and Jenny Burt).