Obituary: Barbara Joy Pywell


The funeral service for Barbara Joy Pywell, aged 77 years of Holton le Moor was held at the parish church.

The Rev Canon Ian Robinson and Rev Canon Judy McMann officiated at the service and arrangements were by J Marshall of Market Rasen.

Barbara was born in Cotterstock, Northamptonshire, and it was there, in 1959, that she married Tony.

She worked as a secretary in a number of agricultural and horticultural companies, including the National Institute of Agricultural Engineering at Wrest Park in Bedfordshire and, up to her retirement, at Nickerson Seeds in Rothwell.

Barbara played a prominent role in the WI at Holton le Moor and in the Northwold Group, including a spell as president at Holton.

She belonged to Caistor Flower Club, Holton PCC and Moot Hall committee, South Kelsey Wives and Gardening Club and in a number of these she acted as secretary.

She was also secretary of the Kelsey Group of Churches.

Barbara had learned her secretarial skills at the, then, Cathedral Gateway School in Peterborough after completing her secondary education.

And these skills were always in demand in Bedfordshire, where the family lived for a number of years and latterly in Holton and district.

Barbara moved to Holton le Moor in 1989; a village which she loved.

And she was much loved by all she touched and the large turnout at her funeral acknowledged this.

Family mourners were: Tony Pywell (husband); Richard, Robert and Philip, Beverley, Lisa and Katie (sons and their wives/partner); Michael (grandson); Bernard and Jeffrey (brothers).

Friends at the service were: Jim Drury and Janet; Mr and Mrs J Cade; Gail Kewley (also rep Jean Threlfall, Madeleine Hill and Caroline Jackson); Gill Johnson (also rep Grasby and District WI); George and Marjorie Fitzjohn (lifelong friends); Mrs J Sheardown (also rep North Kelsey WI and also Mrs M Knapton); Philip and Lesley Kireja; Lana Kenchington; Christopher Bratley; Mr and Mrs P Appleyard; Audrey Pywell; Freda Matthews; Janet Dennis (also rep Sally Moore); Mrs C Burdett and James Burdett; Mike Perry and Kathy Perry; Lawrence and Kate Brown (also rep Emily Brown); Candice Baxter (also rep David and Annabel); John Greenwood (ex Nickersons); Sue and Pat Tolliday; Mr and Mrs P Dobson; Ann Williams (also rep Binbrook WI); Ken Barr (also rep the Barr family); Mr and Mrs A Palmer; Sam Barnes; M Hubbert (also rep the Nixon family); Keith and Vi Knapton; Linda Oxley; Jean Wood (also rep Mrs M Pick); Debbie Gillott (also rep A Dunn); M Rowe; Barry Craven; T and S Robinson (also rep Mrs M Plewes); Margaret Seddon; Mr and Mrs S Perry; T Shaw; Julie Cormack; David and Margaret Jackson; F Staves (also rep C Parkinson); Mrs G Rawlins (North Kelsey WI); J and R Gillin; Jackie Cheetham; Mrs Alderson (also rep Moortown and Nettleton WI); D Coggon; A Vora; A M Sears; Gillian Benett (also rep Richard and family); Sheila Wilmot (also rep Graham and Judy Sexton); Sheila Heath (also rep Andrew and Nicola, Mr and Mrs Alan Woodcock, Mr and Mrs D Pickering); Margaret Blackburn (also rep Trevor, Dianne and also Mary Horton); Karen Spittle; Mrs R Florence (also rep Mr W Florence); Mr and Mrs N Ware; Mr and Mrs G White (also rep Mr R White); Mr and Mrs J Brumby; Miss M Siddall; John Moody and Mrs Rita Moody; Mrs J Sentance; Phillipa Fleetwood (also rep Charlie Fleetwood); Sue and Terry Hollowell; Norma Taylor (North Kelsey WI)

Pauline Gill-Stafford (also rep Faldingworth WI); J and P Bennett (also rep Sheila Robinson); Rose Brewster; John Fawcett; J Barker; June Gaughan (also rep Caistor WI); Ann Timson; Michael Inglis; Sue Froggatt; Cathy Billington; Sean Leather; Walter and Gwen Bain; Rodney and Cynthia Pitt; Jane Beeson (also rep Mr and Mrs D King); Sheila Lawrence; Lesley Hopewell; Chris Muir; Mary Nelson (also rep Lincolnshire North Girl Guides, C Honce, Ann Lynn and Theresa Barker); Tony and Elaine Bramwell (also rep Paul and Rebecca); Mr and Mrs D Bradbury; Brian and Jan Poulson; Mark Poulson (godson); Margaret Short; Dianne Tuckett (also rep LNFWI Northwold Group); Therese Nation; Barry Graham-Rack and Megs Graham-Rack; Cliff and Brenda Fawcett (also rep David and Sue Facwett); Mr and Mrs J Gibbons; Mrs V Gibbons; Mrs C Adams (LNFWI Chairman).