Meet the De Aston brains

editorial image

PRIZES galore for top exam scores were handed out at De Aston School in Market Rasen last Wednesday.

Pupils from last year’s sixth form, year 12, year 11 as well as the current year 11, were presented with their awards by the town’s MP Edward Leigh.

Headteacher Ellenor Beighton said: “As a school we are so blest to have such socially responsible young people to work with, who were appalled by the actions of their so called peers in a number of our greatest cities this Summer.

“We know your journey thus far, and believe you will be the extra ordinary people of the future.”

Prize winners:

Current Year 11 (2011-12)

GCSE English, Kathryn Cook.

GCSE Maths, Ryan Lee.

GCSE Science, Tek Hong Chung.

The Glenda Taylor Prize, Christine Bird.

Best GCSEs, Kathryn Cook.

Year 11 (2010-11)

Outstanding Personal Achievement: Daniel Coles, Hollie Furniss, Daniel Hack, Kate Hunter, Amanda Janney, Harry Lancaster, Aidan Meehan, Kevin Ribis, Karl Smith, Bethany Tyson, Jan Van Der Lubbe, Jake Wilson.

Outstanding Attainment: Alice Bull, Venita Chow, Sally Brunton, Lauren Coles, Fern Eddowes, George Fussey, Ksusha Gertsen, Joshua Ip, Megan Lancaster, Michael Matthews, Lewis Stevenson, Megan Thody, Sharon Wong.

Special Prizes in Year 11

Sport, Megan Lancaster.

Citizenship, Emily Hancock.

Music, Ksusha Gertsen.

Personal Achievement, Charlie Barrett.

Ellen Young Home Economics Prize, Megan Thody.

The Combes’ Cup, Aidan Meehan.

The Philip Jones’ Prize, Megan Lancaster.

The Maurice Brant Cup for Best GCSEs, Alice Bulll.

Year 12 (2010-11)

Outstanding Personal Achievement: Eloise Abel, Gemma Chambers, Sophie Collinson, Kate Fenwick, Esther Freeman, Siobhan Quint, Aaron Scott, Ashley Scott, Katie Smith, Heather Streatfield, Edward Trotter, Alexandra Watkinson.

Oustanding Attainment: Rosanna Bunney, Rosie Forester, Ashleigh Gilliot, Trutz Johanny, Joan Lei, Olasupo Majasan, Thomas Manson, Sam Parkinson, Victoria Parkinson, Andrew Siu, Samuel Smith, April Thompson, Rhiannon Wilds, Guy Williams.

Presentation of certificates to Year 13 (2010-11)

Outstanding personal achievement: Sean Broughton, Lisa Darling, Jonathan De Smit, Matthew Gilooly, Thomas Jenkinson, Venus Lai, Vijay Modaher, Andrew Moore, Henry Reynolds, Luke Richards, Aaron Rowlands, Gideon Seglah, Nicola Surfleet.

Outstanding Attainment Moyinoluwa Adefope, Alexander Brown, Sammy Coles, Katherine Egan, Amy Freeman, Peter Gibbon, Ken Lau, Jonathan Li, Phyllida Pritchard, Jonathan Purkiss, Paul Randall, Rebecca Waterfall, Sarah Wilson.

Special prizes in Sixth Form:

Steven Oldham Prize, Sophie Collinson.

The Bernhard Hansi Prize, Jonathan Li.

Richard Powell Prize for contribution to Music, Thomas Manson.

The Tim Hensman Cup, Jonathan Hall.

Student Head of Boarding, Oluwamayowa Idowu.

ODA Cup for Services to the School, Gideon Seglah.

The Deputy Head’s Prize, Jessica Baulcombe and Jonathan Purkiss.

The Head’s Prize, Gideon Seglah and Sarah Wilson.

Year 13 subject prizes:

The Applied Science Prize, Andrew Moore.

The Art Prize, Rebecca Waterfall.

The Biology Prize, Sarah Wilson.

The Business Studies Prize, Peter Gibbon.

The A B Naylor Chemistry Prize, Amy Freeman.

The Chinese Language Prize, Andrew Siu.

The Construction Prize, Gideon Seglah.

The Simon Webb Trophy for Economics, Jonathan Li.

The English Literature Prize, Sammy Coles.

The Geography Prize, Jonathan Purkiss.

The Health and Social Care Prize, Nichola Hale.

The History Prize, Sarah Wilson.

The IT and Computing Specialist School Prize, Vijay Modaher.

The Mathematics Specialist School Prize, Vijay Modaher.

The Media Studies Prize, Katherine Eagan.

The Photography Prize, Rebecca Tyson.

The Physics Prize, Paul Randall.

The Psychology Prize, Phyllida Pritchard.

The Public Services Prize, Henry Reynolds.

The Sociology Prize, Sammy Coles.

The Hairsine Cup for Sports Studies, Alexander Brown.

The Theatre Studies Prize, Faye Dixon.

The Anyan Cup for Best A-Levels, Sammy Coles.