President Jean steps into Barbara’s shoes

Holton le Moor WI news

The new committee was elected and Jean Emary was appointed president, with Freda Matthews as vice-president.

The competition for a bowl of bulbs and the flower of the month were won by Greta White, followed by Janet Dennis and Janet Byatt.

The annual competition awards were: flower of the year – Barbara Pywell, Greta White and Megs Graham-Rack; competition of the year – Greta White, Megs Graham-Rack and Janet Byatt.

Finally, a tribute was paid to former secretary the late Connie Barr. She was WI secretary for 11 years, from 1986 to 1997, and her first and last reports at committee were read out to members.

The afternoon ended with a social get-together with delicious refreshments, provided by all members present.

At the next meeting, on February 9 in the Moot Hall, Christine Charlesworth will be talking on Painting for Pleasure.

The meeting will start at 2.15pm.