Brigg’s historic raft has finally come home and is now in pride of place at the town’s new Angel Heritage Centre for all to see.
The boat, believed to date from 800 BC left the Maritime Museum in Greenwich last year to be the centrepiece of the £300,000 development project at the centre.
The raft was originally discovered on the Ancholme riverside in the 19th century but then covered up again.
It was not until 1974 that volunteers, in a major project, salvaged it from land at Glanford Boat Club, based where the Old River Ancholme and the New River Ancholme meet.
After being excavated, the raft was taken to Greenwich and remained there in store rather than being displayed since funding cuts in the 1990s.
But now, the raft is back home for people to view after the project team, led by Coun Rob Waltham, secured approval for its return to Brigg.
The raft is not to be confused with Brigg’s famous log boat, unearthed in 1886 at the old gas works site.
Sadly, this was destroyed in a bombing raid on Hull which hit the museum in 1943.
Only splinters of the log boat now survive.
The raft can be seen at the Heritage Centre in Brigg Market Place, which is open Thursday to Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
The centre was the first phase in the development of the Angel - a former 17th century coaching inn.
Visitors can take a voyage of discovery through the ages, from the prehistoric period to the present day, on the development of Brigg and the Ancholme Valley.
It also houses a unique collection of artefacts found in the local area.
Brigg Heritage Centre is largely run by volunteers and more are needed - for more information call 01652 657053.