A fascinating Town Trail linked to an exhibition on the First World War at Brigg Heritage Centre has been interesting local residents and visitors alike.
The Great War Heritage Trail, opened last week, is an opportunity to discover more about the men from Brigg who fought and died for their country 100 years ago, men such as William Kenning from Bridge Street, William Rushbrook from Kiln Lane, Frank Drayton of Elwes Street and George Jackson of Bigby Street.
The archive picture showing men processing to the railway station, used two weeks ago in the Market Rasen Mail, would have included some of these men.
There are 105 names on Brigg War Memorial of men who died between 1914 and 1918 and students of Sir John Nelthorpe School, have traced where 93 of these men lived or worked.
There are a further 12 listed on the memorial whose addresses in Brigg it has been impossible to trace.
Leaflets available at the Heritage Centre in the Angel Suite allow people to follow in the footsteps of the men, find out where they lived and how they died.
Plaques have been placed in the town near their former homes.
Students from Sir John Nethorpe School have been totally absorbed working on the project to discover more about soldiers and three of them laid a wreath on the war memorial earlier this month.
Admission to the Heritage Centre is free and the ‘Lest we Forget’ exhibition is open until the end of the year.