VIDEO: Crowds flock to Wragby Show

Waiting for Video...

The 32nd Wragby Show and Country Fayre was held on Sunday and with the weather fine the crowds poured in.

Main ring attractions included Elaine’s Sheepdogs; Inch Perfect Trials Display of motorbikes; finishing with the grand parade of winners of animals classes, and the Bannovallum Brass Band performed in the side ring with some of the members from Wragby.

There were many trade stands to offer something for everyone; food outlets had a great day; the local fly past from Wickenby proved to be very popular and local groups and organisations had a chance to boost their funds.

Trophy winners:

Shire Horses.

“Ten Cap Catering Shield” – Brood Mare with Foal: G Robinson – Metheringham Upton Isabella

“Holmes Challenge Shield” – Colt/Filly: B Winn – Winstead Isobella

“Walton Cup” – Barren Mare 3 years and upwards: G Robinson – Metheringham Upton Dora.

“Winn Merrin Cup” - Yearling Colt Gelding or Filly: J & M Burks – Daresbrook Diana

“Dats Trophy” – 2 Year old Colt, Gelding, Filly: D Cosgrove and M Poucher – Hainton Tiara

“Hugh Bourn Cup” – Best Gelding 3 years and upwards: G Robinson –Metheringham Upton Stanley

“Leverton Stud Shield” –Best Matched Pair: G Robinson – Metheringham Upton Dora & Stanley

“J Nicholson & Co Cup” – Best Young Handler: Annabelle Yates.

“Herring Trophy” – Supreme Champion: G Robinson – Metheringham Upton Dora

“Jasmac Trophy” – Reserve Champion: D Cosgrove & M Poucher – Hainton Tiara

Rare Breeds Sheep

“Les Thorne Trophy” – Supreme Champion: Maurice Parker

“Polo Interiors Perpetual Trophy” – Reserve Champion: Graham Hampstead

“Imp Glazing Perpetual Trophy” – Best Rare Breed Lamb In Show: Maurice Parker

“Mike and Heather Hodgins Trophy” – Primitive Sheep: S Jarvis

“Lincoln Longwool Cup” – Best Lincoln Longwool: Maurice Parker

Beef Cattle

“The Rushby Perpetual Trophy” – Supreme Champion: Louise Todd.

“Steve Meakin Perpetual Trophy” – Best Pair: Wilkinson Brothers.

Commercial Sheep

“John Birkitt Perpetual Challenge Trophy” – Supreme Champion: C Allison – Thoresway

“Stapleton Trophy” – Reserve Champion: G Allison – Thoresway

“Arthur East Memorial Trophy” – Best Ram Lamb: James Crowder – Ingleby, Lincs

“West Cade Lamb Shield” – Young Handler: Jack Bowles, Upton, Gainsborough.

Private Driving Classes

“The Arthur Clarke Challenge Trophy” – Champion: Linda Jones, Mexborough

“The Morrow Shield” – Reserve Champion: Jane Hayes, Southery

Best Young Driver: Courtney Cox, Garnetby.

Horticulture Classes

“West Torrington Farms Trophy” – Most points in show: Janice Bulllock

“Greenfield Trophy”- Most points in Veg Section: Janice Bullock

“The Dave Paddison Trophy” – Best veg exhibit: John Jaques

“Burton Wilson Trophy” – Most points in flower section – John Jaques

“Jim Horton Challenge” – For flora/veg: Janice Bullock

“The Boscastle Trophy” – Heaviest Onion: Phil Smith

“Gilkes-Thornicroft Trophy” – Most points in floral art class: Mrs G Waite

“Woodcock Trophy” –Best Exhibit in photography: Daisy Stones

“Produce Trophy” – Most points in Produce: Mrs G Waite

“Knight Trophy” – most points in Handicraft: Lynn Henry

“The Linbrew Trophy” – most points in home brewing: Janice Bullock

“Thorne’s Prize for Hive” – Stephen Ranyard

“Shepherd’s Trophy for Children’s Classes” – Lauren Clack

Maze 6-9 years - Jacob Burbridge

Maze 10 – 15 -Cara Clack

Scarecrow Comp - The Newland Shepherd Family

Sunflower Comp - Ann Ransome

Vintage Displays

“Wragby Fish Bar Perpetual Trophy” – Longest Journey: Mr Martin Cowell – Bridlington; Austin Healey 3000 Mk 2 1962 860 UXH

“The Lincoln Audi Cup” – The oldest Vehicle: Mr Tony Clipson; Brigg. Singer Junior 1932. MU 3269

“The Pauline Lee Cup” – The vehicle the judge would most like to take home: Mr Tony Clipson. Brigg. Singer Junior 1932. MU 3269

“The Tony Lee Cup” – Best Commercial Vehicle: Mr M Dearing. Bourn. Dodge Pick Up 1947. 693 YUN

Best Inside Trade Stand: “Rosemary Pike Stained Glass” Newark.

Best Outside Trade Stand: Horncastle Tiles Ltd.




Back to the top of the page